Here's how Black candidates fared in city and school elections across Iowa

Several Black candidates from around the state prevailed in contentious city and school elections on Tuesday.

*Story updated 11/4/2021.

Hotly contested races over mask mandates, critical race theory and equity and policing drove voters to the polls on Tuesday, resulting in some big wins for Black candidates.

Indira Sheumaker, a Des Moines community organizer unseated long time Des Moines city council member Bill Gray.

"We just won our campaign on a platform centered on Defunding the Police for Safety and Justice. It can be done. My goal for this city has always been to work from the bottom up. Not the top down. I'm more committed than ever to working with the residents of Des Moines to get their needs met, prioritizing the people, and acting as a true representative for Ward 1," said Sheumaker in a statement released on Facebook.

Waterloo also scored big victories with Mayor Quentin Hart's reelection, plus the election of Rob Nichols, council member at large, John Chiles, Ward 1 council member and Nia Wilder, Ward 3 council member.

In Waukee, nasty disputes over equity and face mask mandates soured the school board race where four conservative school board members backed by the Warriors & Wolves United political action committee all lost to other candidates, including Armel Traore dit Nignan on Tuesday.

"I am relieved, excited and proud that the voters have spoken in favor of inclusion and diversity for our school system and did not allow fear and misinformation to prevail," said Waukee parent Victor Dutchuk.

According to the Iowa Secretary of State, 425,193 ballots were cast as of 12:30 a.m. Wednesday. For full results, visit the Iowa Secretary of State.


Anita Rollins, Ames City Council Ward 3

Cedar Rapids

After defeating the incumbent, Amara Andrews and Tiffany O'Donnell will face each other in a runoff election on Nov. 30, according to The Gazette.

Amara Andrews, mayoral candidate

Dale Todd, reelected Cedar Rapids City Council

Marcy Roundtree, Cedar Rapids School Board at large


Tim Kelly, Davenport 5th Ward Alderman

Des Moines

Indira Sheumaker, Des Moines City Council Ward 1

Teree Caldwell-Johnson, reelected Des Moines School district


Anderson Sainci, reelected Dubuque School Board


Joseph May, mayor, reelected (uncontested) (not pictured)

Iowa City

Mayor Bruce Teague, city council at large

Ruthina Malone, reelected Iowa City School District at large

Mason City

Peterson Jean-Pierre, Mason City School Board


Sandra Pope, Ottumwa City Council member


Mayor Quentin Hart, reelected (not pictured)

Rob Nichols, Waterloo Council Member at large

John Chiles, Waterloo Ward 1 Council Member

Nia Wilder, Waterloo Ward 3 Council Member

Endya Johnson, reelected to Waterloo School Board

Astor Williams, reelected to Waterloo School Board


Armel Traore dit Nignan, Waukee School Board

West Des Moines

Fannette Elliot, West Des Moines Community School Director at large

Renee Hardman was reelected to the West Des Moines City Council (not pictured).

Windsor Heights

Joseph Jones, reelected Windsor Heights City Council member

Is someone missing from this list? Email the information to

Subscribe to Black Iowa News today.

This site uses cookies to provide you with a great user experience. By continuing to use this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our privacy policy.

Scroll to Top